Happy First Birthday, My Darling.

There’s something beautiful about celebrating the birth of my precious son on the same day as celebrating the resurrection of the Son of God. What a joyous day Easter is, and even more so this year for our family! Today, we will celebrate the beautiful gift God gave us of His Son and of ours. Last year on this day, the first breath taken by our baby boy literally took ours away. It’s a day I will never forget and will cherish for the rest of my life.0 months

I can’t begin to tell you how incredibly fast the last year has gone for us. Everyone has always said how quickly their children grew up, but I honestly wasn’t prepared for how true that really is. He has grown up so quickly into such a little man! Not only physically, but mentally and emotionally, he has grown leaps and bounds and I thank God every day for that.

10 months

I have experienced more joy and love in the last three hundred and sixty-five days than I have in all the days of my life combined. When I say joy, I mean happiness so far beyond measure. When I say love, I can’t even pretend to have the words to describe how in love with him I am. He brings so much laughter and excitement to our lives and brightens every single day. It is seriously impossible to be in a grumpy mood around him, even on our worst days, he manages to make them better. When I think back to what life was like before we had him, I can’t imagine ever not having his sweet laughter and kisses to wake up to every day.

6 months

J is everything I could have hoped for and more. He is such a bright light in this world. I am literally in awe of him every, single day. I have been blessed beyond measure to spend the last year watching him grow from a sweet, tiny little angel baby to an adorable, funny, and smart little boy. He has so many layers, I am so impressed with how deep his emotions lie. I have no doubt that he will be a man of passion and compassion, of wit and of wisdom. I truly feel sometimes like he is the mini-me of Brendan, and I couldn’t be happier about it. I can only hope and pray that J will someday become the kind of man his Dad is.

8 months

I am so looking forward to spending the coming year wondering how I could have thought that it couldn’t get any better than the last. I’m excited for  J to take his first steps, speak his first sentence, and continue exploring the world around him. I anticipate the pride and the heart ache as he gets older and becomes more independent. I dread the times he will hurt, whether physically or emotionally. I’m eager to watch his imagination grow and run wild.

9 months

I pray that we’re making the right choices for him and how we’re raising him. I pray for his heart and for his mind, and that he will grow to be a man who loves Jesus and shares Him with others. I pray for his future wife and that God will keep her heart pure and good.

5 months

I pray, and I pray, and I pray…and I thank God that last year, on this day, He blessed me with the most amazing gift I could ever have imagined.

Happy first birthday, my darling. You are now, and will always be, the absolute light of my life

11 months

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. – 1 Peter 1:3

4 thoughts on “Happy First Birthday, My Darling.

  1. Best blog post ever. So happy God blessed you guys with such an awesome little ray of sunshine! Love all the photos. Congratulations on having the cutest baby EVER!! Love you all.

Leave a Reply

