DIY Glitter Starbucks Cup

For my beautiful niece’s sweet sixteen, I wanted to make her something simple and fun! I saw this idea on Pinterest, so I decided to make it for her! It’s sparkly and fun to match her amazing personality!

What I used:

Starbuck’s Customizable Cold Cup 16oz

Hot Pink Glitter

Krylon Spray Adhesive

Super Glue

*I also purchased a separate dome lid for the cup, since Alyssa enjoys whipped cream on her Starbucks, but this is not necessary!

Ok, here’s the deal. After following this tutorial, I honestly wasn’t impressed with my results. Because the tutorial instructed me to spray the adhesive on the inside of the outer cup, my result was a bit cloudy. I don’t know if I sprayed too much or what, but after that, I decided to try to do it a little differently!

I had to purchase another cup, but I wanted it to be perfect for her, so this time I actually sprayed the adhesive on the outside of the inner cup instead, and applied the glitter that way! By applying the glitter that way, then inserting it back into the outer cup, the glitter was much more sparkly without the adhesive clouding it. Here’s a picture of the two different ways side-by-side so you can see what I mean!

The left cup is the original way and the right cup is my way.

I then applied Super Glue to the threading of the two layers, so if she wants to hand wash the cup, she can without getting any water between the two layers.

I was much happier with the results, and I can’t wait to give it to her!

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1:9

Posted in DIY

2 thoughts on “DIY Glitter Starbucks Cup

  1. Where exactly did you get the cup at? I looked all over place and I could not find it. I really want to do this so could you help me?

    • I got it at a Starbuck’s store! They’re carrying them less and less, but you may be able to find them easily on their website, you just might have to pay for shipping. I hope this helps you!

Leave a Reply

