Cowboy Caviar

I was craving something fresh and tasty for a snack, so I went hunting in the fridge and pantry. It’s one of our favorite things to do. When it’s just about time for a grocery trip, we like to make something delicious out of whatever is left over from the shopping trip before! It’s challenging and it’s also kind of fun to see what we come up with. Brendan was out-of-town and I didn’t feel like cooking, so I threw this together!

This is my version of a cowboy caviar. I believe the original recipe was black-eyed peas, but I’m a big fan of black beans, and honestly, that’s what I had in my pantry, so here’s how I made it!

What I used:

1 can of black beans, drained

1 can of sweet corn, drained

1 sweet onion, diced

3 ripe (but firm) avocados, cubed

3 fresh tomatoes, cubed

2 fresh garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup of cilantro, chopped

2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar (or red wine, but balsamic is all I had)

1 Tbsp olive oil

salt & pepper to taste

Combine all of the ingredients, toss and enjoy! Serve with tortilla chips or anything else that sounds good with it!

`

“All the days of the afflicted are evil: but he that is of a merry heart hath a continual feast.” – Proverbs 15:15

Leave a Reply

