Four Years Ago Today!

Four years ago today was one of the best days of my life. I was in one of my favorite places in the world, New York City. I was with one of my favorite people in the world, Brendan Dekker. I was about to be asked one of the most important questions ever asked of me..Let me start from the very beginning. Brendan was going on a business trip to NY, so he asked me if I wanted to come with him. We were going to stay the weekend to spend time in one of our favorite places, but this was no ordinary trip. After Brendan got off work that evening, we headed out to dinner, but Brendan said he had to stop on the way to pick something up from his co-worker’s apartment first. We got out of the cab and headed up the elevator of a beautiful apartment building in the middle of Manhattan. We stepped out of the elevator, but instead of an apartment, it was a beautiful rooftop garden overlooking one of the coolest cities I’ve ever been to. We had a picturesque view of busy streets below, a skyline of buildings as far as the eye could see, and a stunning view of the Empire State Building.

I honestly thought Brendan got the floor number wrong, but we walked out to enjoy the view anyway. Little did I know, it was his plan all along. As we stood at the edge, just taking it all in, Brendan reached over and gently held my hand. He kept glancing over at me while I’m sure I chattered on about nothing important, until I realized he was acting very suspicious. Right when I was about to ask him what he was up to, he dropped to one knee. I can honestly say from this point on was a bit of a blur. All I know is I said “Yes!” to the most important question ever asked of me. I was going to be Mrs. Brendan Dekker. After he stood up, I kissed the man of my dreams and couldn’t stop staring at the most beautiful ring ever!

Brendan had been up to the rooftop earlier that day, and had stashed a bottle of champagne and a pair of flutes to celebrate! We stood, basking in the view, in each other, and in the celebration of our love. I pretty much immediately called my Mom and Dad and the rest of our families to tell them the good news! It was hands-down the most exciting moment in my life.

The rest of the weekend was such a fun celebration. We went to dinner that evening, though neither of us were able to eat much from all the nerves. The next day, Brendan had arranged a private airplane ride all over New York. It was a view not many are ever fortunate enough to see, and I felt like the luckiest girl in the world to  have enjoyed it with the most amazing guy in the world.

The next evening, Brendan had made reservations at this ridiculously awesome restaurant called River Cafe. It’s nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, and the food was delicious!! The next (and last) evening we had in the city was spent in the third row, center-stage of the Gershwin Theatre for the amazing performance of Wicked as our first engagement present, compliments of my awesome future in-laws.Not only did Brendan truly make me the happiest girl in the world by asking me to be his wife, he made it an absolutely unforgettable event in our lives. He put so much thought and effort into making it more perfect than I ever could have hoped for.I can honestly say it has only gotten better since then. He amazes me every single day by the way he loves me. The way he makes me feel so special and beautiful. The way he makes me smile and laugh. The way he accepts me for who I am and loves me even when I don’t deserve it. The way he fulfills my every need and want, and gave me the coolest son anyone could even hope for.

Four years ago today I said yes to more than a question, I said yes to a lifetime of happiness with the most incredible husband I could ever have imagined.

“And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” – 1 Corinthians 13:13

Leave a Reply

