DIY Tiny Footprints Canvas

While my parents were visiting this weekend, I thought it would be a fun little project to make a canvas print with my Mom for baby J’s nursery! I’ve been wanting to do some footprints for him, so when I saw this idea on Pinterest, I decided to do something similar!

Since J just turned 6 months, it was the perfect opportunity to use his tiny little footprints to make a piece of art for his wall.

What I used:

12×24 canvas

grey and black acrylic paint

1″ Stencils

2 paint sponges

painter’s tape

tape measure

We started by sectioning off the canvas with tape into thirds, then stenciling the ages we chose in each section with the paint and sponges. After that, we put a light coat of paint on J’s foot and practiced on scrap paper first. After finding the best amount of paint and the quickest way to get his foot on and off the surface, we went for it on the canvas! I had considered doing a foot and hand print, but after practicing with the foot, I realized at his age, a hand print would probably get very messy, very quickly and not give the outcome I was hoping for.

There are so many variations you could do with this, from the ages to the paint colors and even the layout! This is what worked best in J’s nursery, and I couldn’t be happier with our simple color choices!

I think it turned out SO cute and it was so special to make it for him with my Mom! I find that the slight imperfections and blemishes add character and will remind me of the fun we had making it. I can’t wait in three months to add the next set of footprints  to see just how much he’s grown! 

 

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” – Romans 12:12

Posted in DIY

3 thoughts on “DIY Tiny Footprints Canvas

  1. Oh my goodness! Is it sad that I have been feeling guilty for not having my 4 month old son’s prints? There’s a spot for them in his baby book, but the hospital we delivered at just doesn’t do prints! Crazy. And then I never got to it. Maybe I can redeem myself with a project like this one. Your little one is just a bit older than mine, yes?

    Oh, and as a new blogger, I’ve been looking for blogs to follow… most that I’m coming across on parenting are angry parents swearing and making sarcastic comments about their kids!!! I’m so pleased to see your Scripture to top off each post – what a blessing. Thanks 🙂

    • Don’t feel guilty!! Actually, the same thing happened with us, they didn’t do prints in the hospital! I think it is never too late! Maybe you could do a similar project to mine but do 4, 8, and 12 months, or even every other month from now on! My little one is 6 months, that is why I started with that age!

      Thank you SO much for the encouraging words, you have no idea how great that is to hear! Looking forward to reading your blog as well!

      xoxo

Leave a Reply

