DIY Paper Crane Mobile

As many of you know, I have some Japanese in my family heritage. So, when I was trying to come up with an idea to hand-make a mobile for baby J’s nursery, I couldn’t think of  anything better and more beautiful than peace cranes! I have seen many already made for sale on Etsy, but since I wanted to make a personal touch (and had plenty of time to do so, since I was on bed rest), I decided to make one myself!

I have a few old Venture traveling books from the 1960’s sitting on my bookshelf, so I decided to use some of the pages from the books to create a more worn/vintage look to the cranes. I picked some pages with mostly text, some with big colorful ads, and some with maps. For the colored pages, I chose to go with mostly burnt oranges and light blues to go with the colors in J’s nursery.

After watching a tutorial on YouTube on how to fold a peace crane, I practiced on some scrap papers until I felt confident, then started folding away! I was deciding between several ways I wanted to hang the cranes, but thanks to the supply from a great friend of mine, Kelli, I decided to use a photo clip mobile!

Although it doesn’t have any flashing lights or play any melodies, baby J loves it!! He just stares at it, smiles and talks to it! I’m so happy I decided to make it for him, it was actually very enjoyable and relaxing, and gave me an opportunity to sit and daydream about my sweet, little baby that would be laying in his crib, enjoying it in just a few short weeks!

“Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid; for the LORD GOD is my strength and my song, and he has become my salvation.” – Isaiah 12:2

Posted in DIY

Leave a Reply

