Sunday Afternoon Guacamole

As long as I can remember, tradition in my family growing up was something we called “Sunday Sandwiches”. When church would let out, we would head to the store, get fresh deli meats, delicious baked bread rolls, and the  ingredients needed to make a fresh batch of homemade guacamole.  The recipe has evolved some over the years, but has certainly continued to be a tradition in my own family as an adult. With the best local avocados available at my fingertips and farmer’s markets offering the  juiciest  tomatoes, sweetest onions, and the most crisp cilantro out there, how could I not?

It’s summer time, which is when the avocados are ripe and abundant here in Southern California, which, for that reason alone, easily makes summer one of my favorite seasons. Although it’s a simple recipe with simple ingredients, I thought I’d share with you for no other reason than to celebrate God’s wonderful gift to us of the fruits and vegetables of  His earth!

What you’ll need: (all of the measurements I use are approximate, I never actually measure when I make it)

4-6 ripe avocados ( you can tell if an avocado is ripe (but not over-ripe) by flicking the stem off to see the color of flesh under, see here)

3-4 roma tomatoes very coarsely chopped (I like a lot of texture in my guac, you can chop more finely for smoother over-all texture)

1/2  large sweet texas onion chopped to your preferred consistency (sometimes I’ll use 1/2 large purple onion instead)

2-3 fresh garlic cloves finely chopped (almost minced)

1- fresh jalapeño finely chopped (optional if you’re not into heat)

1/2 bundle of cilantro (remove all stems and coarsely chop remaining leaves)

Juice from 1 lemon

Salt & Pepper to taste

Most (ok, all) of the work is in the prep… lots of chopping, but it’s worth it!! If you have some kind of chopper, go for it! I like to chop all the ingredients individually for consistency, myself!

Start with mashing the avocado in a large mixing bowl first, so when you add the other ingredients, the avocado will be distributed consistently with the rest of the ingredients.

Then add the chopped tomato, onion, garlic, jalapeño, cilantro and lemon.

Salt & Pepper to taste, then enjoy with tortilla chips or whatever else sounds good at the time! Perfect for a warm, sunny football Sunday!

FUN FACT! Did you also know that you can halve and store ripe avocados in freezer bags to prolong avocado season in your household? Who would’ve thought?!

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. – 1 Corinthians 10:31

6 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon Guacamole

  1. I swear you stole this recipe from me! I use an orange though :-p

    Also, if you keep the pits from the avocados, you can stick those in with any avocado leftovers in a tupperware container and it stops them from oxidizing as quickly (turning brown)!

Leave a Reply

